Melbourne

During my last week here in Australia, I decided to travel south to the city of Melbourne for one last adventure. I had heard good things about Melbourne as a city but I mostly wanted to visit there to see the Great Ocean Road and most importantly the 12 Apostles. Due to friends either going home or having other travel plans, I went on this trip alone. Going on a trip alone probably would have scared me a few months ago but now it just means that I need to have more of a set plan, mostly because I don’t have a working phone.

I could have done a one day tour of the Great Ocean Road but since I was traveling alone, I thought I would look for a longer tour so that I could explore more with a group of people. I settled on a three day tour of the Great Ocean Road and the Grampians which is a National Park and had a great time.

The Great Ocean Road is known as one of the most beautiful coastal drives in the world and I thought it was incredible!

IMG_6762

I finally got to see (and take selfies with) the 12 Apostles,

20151122_155648

20151122_160339

visited the London Arch (or London Bridge),

IMG_6950

wandered to “the Grotto,”

IMG_6957

and made some unexpected stops as well including seeing wild koalas,

IMG_6794

looking at some beautiful Australian birds

IMG_6802

and having an uncomfortable lunch date with a seagull.

IMG_6826

The next two days of exploring the Grampians was really fun too. On the morning of our second day, we went for a walk up to a lookout point and saw a wild wallaby family! It was so precious to see in real life!

IMG_6985

IMG_6986.JPG

There’s no denying that the Great Ocean Road views were amazing but the Grampians were gorgeous as well in a very different way.

IMG_6995IMG_7009

Once I was there, I was really happy that I had made the effort to visit both and not just done a shorter tour of the Great Ocean Road. The Grampians of course involved quite a bit of walking or ‘hiking’ but as with anything like that, the view at the end makes it worthwhile.

IMG_7071

There were even a few hidden gems including a beautiful waterfall!

IMG_7017

IMG_7029

After my tour was done, I did have a little bit of time to explore Melbourne on my own. My main goal was to visit Brighton Beach which has the Brighton Bathing Boxes.

IMG_7087

These colorful wooden structures were built over a century ago based upon ideas of morality and seaside bathing. Today these 82 bathing boxes still line the foreshore of Brighton Beach and are an interesting sight and obviously a tourist attraction.

IMG_7091

IMG_7098

IMG_7104

Melbourne was the last major thing on my list of places that I wanted to go in Australia so I am really glad that I made it there. The sightseeing on this trip met my expectations and even positively surprised me in some ways. I’m so thankful to have visited Melbourne and hey, I made it to four out of six states in Australia this semester, so I would say good on me.

Leave a Reply

