Finals and Final Travels

It’s getting to be that time of the semester where classes are wrapping up and stress is at an all-time high.

tumblr_inline_nfwt0kda0q1r80ogn

After 12 weeks of going to class, writing essays and working on group projects, we are finally on our last and final week of regular classes. While it is nice to put an end to the assessments that we’ve had throughout the semester, classes ending mean that finals are about to begin.

6356567661444261191068583389_scared cat

Now notice how I said finals and not ‘finals week,’ this is because finals here are actually over the course of three weeks! (Crazy, I know!) So this semester, instead of hoping that I didn’t have any finals on Friday, I had to instead hope that by some kind of magic my finals would fall within the same week. They of course didn’t.

49476543

Out of my four classes, I only have two final exams so I guess I am relatively lucky. My other two classes are ending with a group project report and a reflection essay. I have one final on Saturday, November 14 and the other on Friday, November 20 making traveling at the end of the semester difficult.

Due to this schedule, I am actually going to travel before my first final and after my last final. Before my finals, I am going to Thailand for the week!

Wait-what

My friend Sammi, who is from my hometown, is studying abroad at a university near Bangkok so I am going to visit her. I actually leave to go there in a few days and I’m SO excited!

It will be really fun to explore Bangkok and ride elephants but I am mostly excited to spend time with my friend as we never get to see each other anymore. It is crazy to me that we barely even see each other at home but here we are about to hang out for the week in Thailand!

1485892_10153709457614511_8809184630137566403_o

This will also be a relatively inexpensive trip because other than the cost of the flight, everything will be really cheap. I will be staying with her, so I won’t have to pay for a hostel and the exchange rate is incredible. $1 US is worth 35 Thai Baht so food and travel activities will be really affordable.

I have heard a lot of great things about Thailand and I am really eager to see what it will be like. I have never been to Asia before so this will be a whole new experience for me. I think after I get the nine hour flight out of the way, it will be amazing and I definitely won’t want to come back to take my finals.

59432315

I also have a full week after my last final is done before I have to go home and I’m planning to go to Melbourne in Australia. The main purpose of visiting Melbourne is to take a tour on the Great Ocean Road and see the 12 Apostles. The Great Ocean Road is considered one of the world’s most scenic coastal drives and I’ve heard that it’s incredible.

the_great_ocean_road_gor_u_1245178_503x283

The 12 Apostles are a collection of limestone structures that gradually eroded to form caves in the cliffs which eventually broke off into isolated formations. There are currently only eight remaining stacks as five have fallen since their discovery.

The-12-Apostles

Seeing the 12 Apostles is the last major thing that I want to do in Australia. Unfortunately, the previous travel plans that I made to go with a friend have fallen through so I will have to go there alone. Traveling alone is a little intimidating, especially because I still don’t have a working phone, but I plan on doing a tour so I will be with a group. Honestly, at this point I traveled over a day by myself to get here and I have taken a million flights and train rides so I’m not worried.

I-Can-Do-It

What I am worried about are my final exams. I am terrified to take these finals because they are going to be essay style rather than multiple choice. So if I have no idea how to answer the questions then I can’t just guess and pick a letter.

testing

During my lecture last night, they were explaining that for one of my exams we have to answer nine questions in two and a half hours. Three of these questions are supposed to be two to three page ‘mini essays’ and the questions could be from any of the 17 chapters that we have learned about over the course of this semester.

Even just the thought of taking these final exams makes me uneasy but I just keep telling myself that I only have to pass the class. Like with any finals, I’m just going to study as much as I possibly can and hope that these exams go well.

favor

Leave a Reply

